Susurrations

When thinking about creating a soundscape, I instinctively turned towards the idea of whispers.  I wanted to incorporate a mixture of sounds that also included whispers, but I ran into a wall of what type of sound I want.  Then I started to think about susurrations and what it meant to listen to sounds that couldn’t be distinguished from each other.  In a crowded room, in nature, and even while at home susurrations fill our daily life to the point that they stop becoming sound.  This background noise that we ignore or tune out will now become the focal point to which my audience must pay attention to.

So now I had the type of sound that I wanted to work with, but my next obstacle was what susurrations did I want to use.  Did I want a combination of natural and mechanical? Did I want to use susurrations with voices or nature? Oddly enough  it was a conversation that I had with my friends recently about the hadron collider and the fate of what this particle could do to the world. Here is the link of the New York Times article that discusses this theory.

HadronCollider&Fate

So with this idea of Nature versus Humankind, I started to think of how I could incorporate Nature’s fear of our domination into a soundscape.  I’ve never made a sound project, but I’m excited to see how I’m going to layer all of the sounds. I’m going to use my video function on my camera to record the sounds, but I’m worried that the sound is going to be horrible.

I’m hoping to record the sounds of the river, the wind and of the crazy birds here in Pont-Aven.  As for the sound of Humankind, I’m still wondering about whether I should incorporate mechanical sounds with human voices or just voices as background.  I’m going to start recording everything and just start piling them on top of each other.

Published in: on November 15, 2009 at 5:34 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: